Thursday, 22 June 2023

Recent updates on my involvements in philatelic societies (2023)

Burma (Myanmar) Philatelic Study Circle, UK

The Burma (Myanmar) Philatelic Study Circle, B(M)PSC in short, recently held its annual general meeting on April 1st, 2023, in a virtual format. The existing committee members were re-elected during this meeting, and I am pleased to report that I will continue to hold the position of Committee Member without office. Congratulations to the entire team on their successful re-election.

In addition to the committee member re-elections, I am thrilled to share that I was made a Life Member of the society during this meeting. It is an honor to receive this recognition, and I am humbled by the support of all members present.

B(M)PSC COMMITTEE (2023-2025)

Chairman / Treasurer

Rufus Barnes


Michael Whittaker




Richard Warren

Committee Member

Mike Ley

Committee Member

Toe Kyaw Kyar

The Burma (Myanmar) Philatelic Study Circle is a UK based organisation with an international membership, for collectors of all aspects of Burma. It was founded in 2005, and grew out of the UK Chapter of the “old” Burma Philatelic Study Circle, which existed from 1979 to 2000 and published The Burma Peacock under the very able editorship of Alan Meech in Canada.

The main benefit to B(M)PSC members is our quarterly journal, The Burma Fantail, successor to the Peacock, which is mailed printed and stapled in full colour, or emailed as a colour pdf file. Twice yearly, UK members meet in London at Stampex; meetings are cordial and members’ displays are always interesting and worthwhile.

For a sample back issue of the Fantail in pdf format please contact the Editor, Richard Warren, at For details of current memberships rates, or to join, please contact our Secretary, Mike Whittaker, at   

Zui You Philatelic Society, Singapore

Zui You philatelic society also held its AGM on 16 Apr 2023, together with the mini-auction for society's fund raising, and the member's display.  Members brought some philatelic items to display.  A new exco has been elected for the term 2023-2025.  My heartfelt congratulations to new exco for being elected.

ZUI YOU EXCO (2023-2025)

Honorary Advisor

Tan Kan Buay

Executive Advisor

Henry Ong Seow Yee FRPSL
PresidentDr Zhao Jia

1st Vice President

Seow Shin Horng
2nd Vice President

Alan Chong Siow Min
Honorary SecretaryDr Wang Lei
Asst Honorary SecretarySoh Poh Cheng
Honorary TreasurerDr Eric Lee
Asst Honorary TreasurerFong Weng Khin
Executive MemberLoo Wing Tek
Executive MemberWong Han Min
Executive MemberEr Chiang Song

The new exco appointed the below non-exco positions.  The position of Exhibition Champion is responsible to keep record of members' success at the national, international and world exhibitions.  It is also to record the member's contributions to the exhibitions, like serving as Juror or Commissioner.



Terence Wee
Exhibition ChampionHong Jia Yang

Exhibition Champion

Toe Kyaw Kyar

Myanmar Philatelic Society, Myanmar

I will continue my position as the Editor of The Burma StaMPS journal.  The Burma StaMPS is a quarterly newsletter and journal published by the Myanmar Philatelic Society. It primarily serves members and includes local philatelic news and articles about Burma and world philately. The digital version is distributed for free, and each issue is 20 pages long and published in full color. In addition to the digital version, an annual volume is printed as hard copies and distributed. This provides members with a physical collection of the year's publications for easy reference.  The Journal started to publish its Volume I in the year 2022.

Illustration of AGM created using AI Image Creator

No comments:

Post a Comment